Ginger molasses cookies…

I am forever on the hunt for the perfect ginger-esque cookie.  I buy them in coffee shops, I test them out at every new grocery store or market, I try friend’s mother’s and/or grandmother’s recipes, with and without molasses, crunchy or chewy. It can’t be too gingery but still needs a little heat. The closest to perfection that I have found in my search, was a little gem of a cookie called Ginger 3 Ways at Pacific Cookie Company in Santa Cruz, California. Little chunks of crystallized ginger in a perfectly chewy cookie dough.  I have no idea how they do it, but this is my ode to that amazing cookie.  I added molasses. I like the sweet yet mineral-like essence that it adds to the cookie.  I went for an organic, unsulphured molasses rather than the blackstrap.

While testing this recipe out, I was fortunate enough to have a seasoned and talented baker in our home.  This recipe reminds me watching my daughter giggle and play with her grandma, while sipping my coffee and munching on this cookie-all the while it was snowing outside.

Ginger molasses cookies…

preheat oven to 350 degrees

2 1/4 cup flour

2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp kosher salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp allspice

sift together and set aside

with a paddle mixer on low (or elbow grease), combine:

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup granulated sugar

then add:

1/4 cup molasses

1 egg

2 tsp shredded fresh ginger

then add the dry ingredients to the wet, combine

then add:

1/4 cup finely diced crystallized ginger

and mix until combined

roll dough into tbs balls, roll in sugar, place an inch apart on a baking sheet

bake 10 minutes (no more!), they will feel under baked initially, but when they cool they are amazing and chewy

eat together, toast to each other, and share!

One response to “Ginger molasses cookies…

Leave a Reply

