Bowie’s Zucchini bread…

Zucchini and orange marmalade tea cake…

There are so many good things about this bread I don’t even know where to begin. My brain is going into overdrive thinking about all the things that I love about it. First, let me tell you a little something about myself.  Once I make my mind up about something or someone, it is usually very difficult to persuade me otherwise. I form my opinions quickly and viscerally. I knew I was in love when I first laid eyes on this bread recipe and the cookbook that it came in: Tartine by Elizabeth M. Prueitt and Chad Robertson.  It was a Christmas gift from California. I also think it was a subtle nudge by my sister in law intended to change my “I am not a baker” opinions and attitude about baking.

The book itself is beautiful, creative and unique recipes, and beautiful photographs. It also abides by the one rule that I judge a cookbook by; that there must be a photograph for each recipe. It is all about the art. The bread recipe that I absolutely love is the zucchini and orange marmalade tea cake. I love it because it is simple, not too sweet, made with common ingredients, and it is adaptable. I have already made it four times and each time I made it a little different. My favorite version however, was the one I was able to make in Los Angeles with Bowie, my nephew.  As we did not have any marmalade available to us when we began the baking process, and it was too rainy and windy to leave the house, we were proud to use the two lonely persimmons that were the last standing soldiers in the CSA box. Bowie came up with a delicious concoction for these persimmons and was responsible for all the manual labor. I think this is the main reason why I love this bread so much, because it reminds me of this warm and cozy day, staying inside baking bread with my nephew, on an unusually rainy, southern California day.

Zucchini and orange marmalade tea cake…

From Tartine

1 ¾ cups + 2 tbs all purpose flour

½ tsp baking soda

½ tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon, ground

2 large eggs

½ cup + 2 tbs vegetable oil

¾ cup sugar

½ cup orange marmalade (or Bowie’s persimmon concoction, recipe to follow)

2 ½ cups zucchini, grated

½ tsp sea salt

sugar for topping

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly oil and flour the bottom and sides of a 9” x 5” loaf pan, knocking out the excess flour.

Sift together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and cinnamon into a mixing bowl and set aside. In another mixing bowl, beat together eggs, oil, sugar, and marmalade (or persimmon concoction) until combined.  Add the flour mixture and beat until just combined. Transfer the batter to the prepared loaf pan and smooth the surface.  Sprinkle evenly with the sugar. Bake until a cake tester comes out clean, 60-70 minutes.  Let cool in the pan on a wire rack for about 20 minutes, then remove from pan and cool completely.

OR if you are like us and cannot wait, eat it hot out of the pan.

Bowie’s persimmon concoction

2 persimmons

½ cup orange pineapple juice

1 tsp sugar

dash of salt

dash of cinnamon

Dice persimmons.  Place in a small pot over medium-low heat. Add juice and salt.  Cook until persimmons can be mashed.  Then add sugar and cinnamon to taste. The texture should be that of a chunky preserve when finished.

Eat together, toast to each other, and share!

One response to “Bowie’s Zucchini bread…

  • Jessica Shupe

    There are so many things I love about this post I’m sure I’ll leave a few out due to time/space constraints. I LOVE that Bowie got to cook (his favorite activity) with his Auntie. I love that you use the word concoction. I love that the lonely CSA persimmons were used with such finesse. I love that I got to hold a precious little wee babe whilst all this was going on. And I love the “gentle nudge” to baking. And I love the photo. XO

Leave a Reply

